Aerial view of prawn faming in Thailand

Ten Years of Aquaculture Improvement Projects: Knowledge and Impacts Achieved Globally

In this series of three webinars, we will share knowledge and learnings from ten years of developing aquaculture improvement projects (AIPs), so that industry can build on this experience to increase supply chain security and climate change resilience, and support small-holder farmers in becoming part of more resilient supply chains.

The aquaculture sector now produces more than 50 percent of the seafood consumed worldwide, and is expected to grow by up to 40 percent by 2030. To date, farm certification has been the main tool used to drive sustainability improvements on individual farms, but with only 5 percent of farms certified globally, a new approach is needed to support sustainable growth of the sector.  

It is now recognized that to drive meaningful improvements, aquaculture management needs to take into consideration the cumulative impacts that many farms have on local resources. This approach is called a landscape or ecosystem-based approach. With our work on AIPs, SFP has been driving projects to achieve landscape-based improvement for more than a decade.

The webinars will feature prominent speakers from around the world who will share their expertise and experience of how AIPs can lead to tangible benefits and outcomes for small-holder farmers and shrimp exporters, while increasing environmental sustainability at scale.

All webinars will be recorded and will be made available after the events. 

Webinar #1: Why Aquaculture Farm Certification is Not Enough

This webinar will present success stories of aquaculture improvement projects (AIPs) and landscape-based management, to give stakeholders a sense of the impact that can be achieved by these projects. 

Date: Wednesday, August 31, 2022

Time: 8:00 am EDT | 1:00 pm BST | 7:00 pm WIB

Speakers:

NOTE: Due to the high volume of registrations for this webinar, late registrants may not be able to log in to the Zoom meeting. If this happens, you can still watch the webinar LIVE at this YouTube channel.

Webinar #2: How to Get Started with Aquaculture Improvement Projects and Landscape Management

This webinar will provide practical resources and examples of how different supply chain actors can get involved in AIPs and how the projects can benefit the environment while also ensuring supply chain security.

Date: Monday, November 7, 2022

Time: 9:00 am EST | 2:00 pm GMT | 9:00 pm WIB  

Speakers:

  • Paul Bulcock, Aquaculture Information Manager at SFP, on the AIP framework and how to get started
  • Longline Environment, on how to set targets for an aquaculture region
  • Trini Pratiwi, Project Manager, Asian Seafood Improvement Collaborative, on giving processing plants the tools to engage small-holder farmers
Webinar #3: Demystifying Aquaculture Traceability Through Supply Chains: How AIPs Increase Supply Chain Transparency for Consumers and Seafood Buyers

This webinar will offer examples of how AIPs can also improve supply chain transparency, and what tools can be used to track and report on progress achieved.

Date: Thursday, December 1, 2022

Time: To be confirmed   

Speakers (to be confirmed):

  • Speakers will be added closer to the date

This series of webinars is sponsored by SFP’s Asian Farmed Shrimp Supply Chain Roundtable (SR), in collaboration with SFP, to increase the understanding of how landscape management looks and its importance in elevating aquaculture sustainability. 

The Asian Farmed Shrimp SR is an industry-led coalition to advance environmental sustainability in shrimp farming in Southeast Asia at scale by supporting and driving the adoption of AIPs. SFP provides scientific, technical, and organizational support to the SR.